On being older than I used to be

Liz once told me a story about someone she knows saying “back then she used to be older than me”

that made me laugh

Anyhow, I’m now older. I’ve made it to 30. Which, on my one day’s experience seems to be a lovely age. People are always very down on getting older but I still kind of like it.

I hate birthday parties, or rather I hate large amounts of attention foisted upon me when I don’t really feel like it.

Just give me your material gifts and leave your love and kindness at the door.

I usually work on my birthday which avoids all of this. I do remember Craig and Matt waiting up till  got home at 11.30pm so they could jump out in the dark and start playing Stevie Wonder’s Happy birthday song. It was moving.

This year I have a wife which is all very exciting. Having a wife is good at stopping you being a self-pitying bastard and teaches you that to love you have to let yourself be loved, you have to let yourself be celebrated.

And I did. Feel very celebrated that is.

2 Responses to “On being older than I used to be”


  1. 1 PatrickM May 7, 2011 at 11:36 am

    Happy belated 30th Andy.
    Your post title sounds very Dylanesque ..
    “Ah, but I was so much older then
    I’m younger than that now”
    http://www.bobdylan.com/songs/my-back-pages


Leave a Reply

About

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

