Spiritualising Lazarus

“But please, where does the story about poor Lazarus say anything about his ‘heart’?… The really frightening thing about the story is precisely the fact that it is not moralised but simply tells about the poor and the rich, the promise to one and the threat to the other.”

Bonhoeffer on the errors of “spiritualising” a text like Luke 16:19-30

In “reflections on the bible”
Hendrickson 2004

1 Response to “Spiritualising Lazarus”


  1. 1 Stephen Bridgett December 31, 2012 at 8:25 pm

    Hi Andy,

    Sorry that I haven’t been in touch for a while. I’ve been intending to start a blog, although I procrastinate too much! so for a new year’s resolution, I though I should start by looking on internet for some inspiration, then I’ll probably procrastinate some more!.

    Your blog is really interesting – I really like the thoughts and quotes about life, medicine and faith. I’d heard about Bonhoeffer but hadn’t got around to reading a book of his. Ivan Illich’s Medical nemesis is new to me, but expresses well points that I think many of us feel.

    Wishing you a good 2013, Stephen.


Leave a Reply

About

December 2012
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

