On yet another interesting essay title

So this unit is radical hermeutics. Which I’m slowly beginning to get my head round. And this our essay title:

Choose an example of marginalization and/or exclusion from your contemporary world. How can radical hermeneutics help and/or hinder your interpretation of that example?

Any tips of good things to read on this are appreciated!

3 Responses to “On yet another interesting essay title”


  1. 1 FF December 14, 2011 at 11:21 pm

    Ok, so Rev Dr (elect) Hargaden suggested I reply to you, but I feel out of my depth. I don’t know what scenario will interest you but I would suggest you dabble in the hermeneutics of liberation theology….. because I know all you Maynooth people love your Barth and your theological anthropology and neo-orthodoxy, but I would love to hear your thoughts on theology/Biblical interpretation which starts with the people and works back to the christian narrative. What might that narrative look like, particularly starting with an oppressed or marginalised people group. You could go ‘pure’ latin american liberation (Boff, Sobrino, Gutierrez), Black (Cone, Williams etc), Feminist or Queer. Or a combination of all three (check out Marcella Althaus Reid). This also might include critique of leftist readings of SCripture (when someone told me Ched Myers might not have the only hotline to God I nearly cried).

    Anyhoo, hope all goes well!

    • 2 Andy Neill December 14, 2011 at 11:31 pm

      Ha!

      Great stuff

      The lecture stuff we have covers queer and feminist stuff, but I think they want us to focus more on post-colonial stuff

      I see all of this stuff as starting in liberation theology so I’ll have to look at some of that too

      Cheers

      Andy

  2. 3 theofficeinthestoreroom December 20, 2011 at 3:06 am

    No idea Randy what all this sociology esque blog is about. My basic understanding without using big words is that hermeneutics is about interpretation of text in a social context. (That is probably wrong). How about doing something like looking at the comparisons the working populations make amongst themselves and how they try to self stratify their perceived achieved place.


Leave a Reply

About

December 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

