Kindness

On the few occasions that I stop long enough to consider even hearing the still small voice of God, I think of kindness.

In the sense of kindness, gentleness, self-control  that is. Fruits of the spirit and all that.

I once quoted Vonnegut from one of his novels where the character Eliot Rosewater is baptising/christening and gives his one rule for living on planet earth

God damn it you’ve gotta be kind…

I find myself deeply moved by kindness. Kindness observed amongst those I know and don’t know. The kindness of the people I work with in how they deal with people. And I lament my failings in dealing with those I love; how quick I am to anger or criticism or jibes – more in the name of humour and superiority than grace.

I get angry at the lack of kindness, most often exhibited on occasions where I work in the hospital. The “God damn it..” in exasperation and anger seems fitting.

0 Responses to “Kindness”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

