The lighthouse

T’is holiday season in our house so expect (hopefully) lots of these kind of posts. The usual photo taken at arm’s length of me standing somewhere sunny looking smug, with an ocean in the background. Like this one

Though that was a whole 2 weeks ago so I’ll try and stay more contemporary.

My charming Brother and Sister-in-law (AKA Morsies) got us a voucher for our wedding enabling us to stay in one of these places.

We chose this one.

Mainly for location. It’s way out, almost as far south as you can go. If you go straight south, you don’t really hit anything till you hit Africa.

We were staying, not in the lighthouse but in the little house to right of the idiot’s finger.

I’m sure everyone has a pair of these porcelain dogs somewhere in their history

Even more excitingly, I got a surfboard and we managed to spend 3 days in the water enjoying the surf.

I have surfed before. Though rarely successfully. I have since discovered that this was largely due to the poorly made purchase that I made in NZ. A lovely board but about 2 foot too short for me. It’s somewhere still in NZ (i think), the last I saw it I think Jason had it, and he’s in Aus now, so maybe it’s doing the rounds!

The one I have now is 8ft and is surprisingly easy to stand on.

Note how fast a shutter speed you need to catch me standing on a board

Lighthouses are of course all automatic these days. This was the view from our bedroom. One night we left the shutters open to have the beam shining in; 5 every 20 seconds or so.

The house used to be home for the last keepers of the lighthouse. Them and their 15 kids! The son still maintains the current lighthouse and house.

My Jedward hairstyle gives you an idea of the wind you have to deal with. Not a place to try spitting into the wind

0 Responses to “The lighthouse”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

