Eric the gardener

When i lived up north it was in a wee terrace house (the house i rented not the one i grew up in) with tarmac out front and concrete out back.

There was a lovely shrub/ bush thing that grew over the wall from the estate of semis behind us. It would flower come summer and look lovely.

The back yard was a good spot for bbqs but that was about it. No where to grow anything

When I moved here we moved to another terrace house but this time with a narrow but fairly lengthy strip of grass out the back. And oh the trees, sweet trees and bird song.

(incidentally, mitchelinman’s daughters set me right on the difference between a crow a raven a jackdaw and a blackbird so I have a better idea which is which now.)

We moved in in the summer and managed to get (rather overpriced) some herbs in a pot from m&s to grow. The rocket lasted till the first November snows anyhow.

Inspired by an old neighbour (as in prior not aged) and canalways I’ve gone for a bit more this year.

Part hobby and part cost saving.

It’s good being outside. Or maybe I’ll make a less morally weighty statement and say I like being outside. Having a garden gives me a good excuse.

I’d kill for an outside tap. Running the hose from the kitchen tap has it’s problems.

On the cost saving – the big one is salad. I have a diet largely consiting of beer, rocket, chorizo and tomatoes. The beer i plan to make if I can steal my brother’s beer brewing kit. The chorizo and the tomatoes are fairly cheap (you can get cherry tomatoes in tesco for 5 euro a kg if you look hard enough) but the rocket is a bit extortionate to buy. 70g for 2.50 or something like that. You could get cocaine cheaper per kg (warning vastly exaggurated estimate with no basis in reality…)

Rocket grows pretty easily. You plant some seeds and then it grows, and then it keeps growing.

I have high hopes

In addition (cause I got a bit carried away when I was buying seeds) I’ve also planted some spinach, tomatoes, broad beans, onions, basil, parsely, rosemary, and coriander. In addition to the mint and aloe vera that we couldn’t quite kill off when we first moved in.

Will have photos when the time comes. I know you’re all quivering with anticipation…

4 Responses to “Eric the gardener”


  1. 1 canalways April 1, 2011 at 1:27 am

    good job…finding the dead rotting mouse in my watering can has dampened my vegetable gardening enthusiasm but I need to get back on the horse tomorrow.
    Coriander would be a good one to crack this year as you always need it for curry and stuff. I did some basil last year on the kitchen windows,broad beans are good but you don’t get that many by the time you shell them and as for tomatoes…blighty, miserly green failures of a thing…no tomatoes ever again.

  2. 2 Nelly And I April 1, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    i’m growing 7 types of tomatoes apparently. You’re filling me with apprehension about them now…

  3. 3 canalways April 1, 2011 at 10:22 pm

    bit but if I was doing it again I would definately check that I was growing a good eating tomato and not plum tomatoes…i poured all my love into tomatoes that are good for turning into sun dried tomatoes but don’t taste that good when you eat them straight.

  4. 4 Sam Moore April 3, 2011 at 10:36 am

    This feels like gardeners question time…

    I’m also loving getting outside. Trying to sort out our front garden is horrific.. We only have a yard at the back so thinking rocket and some herbs in boxes?


Leave a Reply

About

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

