Not a job

I do a teaching job. It’s not high powered. It’s not gonna advance my career. It’s not the most challenging thing I’ve ever done.

But I really quite like it.

Yet whenever I talk to my peers (mainly the medical ones) I seem to have some kind of out of body experience watching myself try to “talk-up” the job with vague pretensions toward research and academic qualifications. Either that or talk about how the job is good because it allows me to pursue all these other wonderul esoteric avenues of interest.

Now that may all be true but I know I’m only saying it at that moment because I feel some kind of need to justify it. Some need for me to build up an identity somewhat “sexier” (as sexy as dead bodies gets…) than that which it is.

As someone who has made multiple statements about being “anti-careerist” I realise I’m not quite all that.

Please make cheques with your approval of what I do payable to Andrew Neill…

0 Responses to “Not a job”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

About

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

