Snow Day

We’re not really up to coping with the snow and the ice are we?

TCD (where I work) is closed tomorrow because of the snow. The North Americans I teach are all a bit bemused that the whole country shuts down at the hint of chilly weather. If you were from Canada or Minnesota you’d probably understand.

But for me it means a “snow day”. And it couldn’t come at a better time.

Tired, full of mucous and looking not sure which way is up.

While I’ve not been exactly busy in work, we seem to have managed to cram every other moment of our lives with something or other.

We have had people staying with us in our humble abode for the past 6 weekends in a row. While a lot of fun, this was perhaps not the best idea in the world.

Not for a raging introvert like me.

Now I know I can hold a conversation with the best of them, and I know that I have even been known to enjoy other people’s company but gees it is kind of hard work.

I suppose this is what I’m realising. That my life has changed. That I have changed.

Anyone, even me, could see this coming. I changed jobs, changed countries, got married, and made a whole bunch of new friends a big part of my life.

Yet I’m still coming to terms with it. Also hardly a surprise.

I’m noticing patterns at least. That I’m better when I’ve had the time on my own to figure this out. Even when my lovely wife knows it days before I do.

Here’s to the snow

 

1 Response to “Snow Day”



Leave a Reply

About

December 2010
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

