Put the book back on the shelf

I read a lot of books. At least I try to read a lot of books. I like the pretentiousness mainly. Sometimes I even like the books.

I read War and Peace – it took me 4 months and I didn’t enjoy it and I’m not entirely sure what happened, apart from a lot of stuff about Russian farming.

I read Crime & Punishment – it rocked.

When I start these things I tend to finish the. A bit like Magnus Magnusson on Mastermind.

I tried Kirkegaard’s Fear and Trembling on the basis of the cover line

if there were no eternal consciousness in a man, if at the bottom of everything there were only a wild ferment, a power that twisting in dark passions produced everything great or inconsequential, if an unfathomable, insatiable, emptiness lay hid beneath everything, what would life be but despair.

I get that. I gave up two thirds of the way through the book. I’m sure he said great things. They were just over my head.

5 Responses to “Put the book back on the shelf”


  1. 1 transfarmer November 4, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    i heard that the best part of that book was 5 pages after the one you stopped on…

  2. 2 Steven November 4, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Andy

    Two things:

    1. Are you available for that elusive pint at any stage this week or next – unless you are cavorting (a la Sammy Wilson) in Maynooth?

    2. Given that you are really a closet Anglican I was wondering if you would be interested in helping me to gather a group of people for some kind of semi-regular Morning Prayer group – working out of a liturgical text? Just a thought to consider in advance of our next pint.

    I bought an introductory book about Kierkegaard and couldn’t even finish that so I wouldn’t worry…but he did have this to say:

    “…what does it mean when we continue to behave as though all were as it should be, calling ourselves Christians according to the New Testament, when the ideals of the New Testament have gone out of life?”

  3. 3 Nelly And I November 5, 2009 at 12:04 am

    1) tuesday wednesday or thursdya evening of next week all good. Transfarmer always liked Sammy Wilson, let’s face it who doesn’t

    2) sounds cool. we can talk about it when we do 1)

    Love the quote

  4. 4 Steven November 5, 2009 at 12:27 pm

    Thursday night would be good, around 9pm?


Leave a Reply

About

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

