Pictures of you part 4

It’s 2am.

I am now realising why my room was so cheap. overlooking the late club with the pumping beats. Sleep will not come easy.

To close the course we had a game of emergency medicine jeopardy. Being Americans this kind of made sense. Except to us, who were mainly foreign national doctors who had no idea of the rules. There was free candy – and proper candy like Hershey bars. Can’t say i’m a fan.

Good course all the same.

Armed with such knowledge I’m ready to go back and diagnose the life out of my patients. At least i would do if we had a machine. Anyone want to lend us 30 grand or so?

Managed to meet up with the office who was down on some clandestine interview or something. Enjoyed a pint and some food while it pissed down outside.

I know this sounds kinds of dubious but I spent this evening meeting up with someone i met over the internet.

See i told you that would sound dodgy.

I know Zoomtard vaguely through the blog and always fancied meeting up for a pint. Seeing as i was in Dublin…

[Brief interlude – drunken irishmen appear to be spilling each others blood outside the room]

(… and Maynooth is in Dublin in my geography) then we should meet up. After a series of emails I ended up in a room in Maynooth with a NASA astrophysicist and some post grad students talking about the meaning of life.

It was immensely enjoyable as you can imagine. Random is always enjoyable.

This was followed by a party where i managed to meet people i vaguely knew from back home.

I even talked to people i’d never met and may even have talked to girls at one point. If i wasn’t careful there may even have been dancing.

This is quite frankly exceptional in my book, having spent the past number of months either miserable, working or hiding and avoiding having to meet life head on.

I may even have had fun – otherwise known as enjoying myself. It has been a while.

Anonymous fun is always so much more fun – i don’t know these people, they don’t know me – why does that make it so much easier? I dunno.

Nice bunch of people i must say. If i say that the hospitality was good then that probably means i’ve been hospitalised which is not quite what i wanted to say.

9 Responses to “Pictures of you part 4”


  1. 1 meinmysmallcorner April 26, 2009 at 1:22 am

    Oh no… This is how it all starts… A seemingly innocuous ‘pint’ and then before you know it, you’re driving over two hundred miles every Sunday and are beginning to count how many pennies you can afford to exchange into euro to pay an extortionate Dublin(ish) monthly rent. 😉

    I’ll bet I know at least three of those girls you nearly danced with. You defo should’ve danced.

  2. 2 Nelly And I April 26, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    dancing is “of the devil” or haven’t you heard…

  3. 3 Kevin Hargaden April 26, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    It was a total pleasure to have you there and I hope that the hospitalisation we offered was superior to your machine-less Norn institutions.

    Beware of what Rachel says however. Dublin, and Maynooth especially, seems to have a strange elixir for you thoughtful Nordie types. We are thinking about setting up a monastery/detox centre for overchurched Protestants. 🙂

  4. 4 Nelly And I April 26, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    it’s the latent bigotry and fundamentalism in the air that draws us there, we just can’t get enough of it.

    i do mean to come some sunday morning too, but will let you know when. Say ta to andy again for the lift home and Bevian (probably spelt wrong, sorry) for the use of her toilet (don’t ask).

  5. 5 meinmysmallcorner April 28, 2009 at 1:51 am

    I have found myself once again in Maynooth… I told you – its inescapable!

    Sorry, Zoom, where do i sign up for that “detox monastery ????

    Btw… I won that bet.

  6. 6 transfarmer April 28, 2009 at 2:21 pm

    glad you enjoyed the party, to be fair, how could you not when it was in maynooth?! next time i’ll know who you are quicker!

  7. 7 Clairebo April 28, 2009 at 3:06 pm

    You know, we’ve a real shortage of doctors in Dublin…

  8. 8 Clairebo April 28, 2009 at 3:07 pm

    By the way, it’s spelled Beibhinn. I’ll pass on the good wishes. 🙂

  9. 9 Kevin Hargaden April 29, 2009 at 9:10 am

    By the way, everyone should live in Maynooth!

    God is calling you to enliven my social life!


Leave a Reply

About

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

