Did ye get healed?

Today was one of those nice days in work. Normal hours for starters. So much nicer to start and end work when most of the people you know do as well. This is a rarity but all the nicer because of it. You get civilised things like lunch and even a coffee break. I was wearing my navy scrubs. I like them better than my blue ones, better pockets.

T’was also a nice day cause I only had a very few patients who I didn’t know what was wrong with them. Being bewildered in diagnosis is an all too frequent problem. The human body plays up in so many spectacularly different ways that it’s hard to get on top of them all. Telling people what’s not wrong with them is much easier than telling people what is wrong with them.

It’s (relatively) easy to spot big things, like broken legs and heart attacks but what about all those niggly pains that don’t really seem to fit into any diagnostic category. Something is causing it (something is always causing it), it may not be serious but something is definitely causing it.

It didn’t used to annoy me. As long as I could rule out the big things then I wouldn’t concern myself over the ‘minutiae’ of diagnosis. But (sigh…) no longer, as I slowly mature from baby doc to toddler doc, I’ve developed this annoying desire to actually know what’s wrong and how to fix it. This leads to many a night, reading medical books at 2am trying to work things out.

But anyhow, I will endeavour to remain positive on todays events. Along with generally knowing what was wrong with the patients I even got to do some wonderful hands on stuff like slicing open juicy abscesses and squeezing out the pus. If you tihnk I’m mad then that’s OK, I see the pus squeezing as therapy…

Indeed I even got to do one of my favorite things – sticking needles in people’s backs. Now back in the old days (I mean when I lived in NZ), I got to lots of this, central lines, chest drains, LPs, if you could stick a needle or a tube in it then I was your man.

I miss the needlework (not the cross stitch kind…). I miss the ligamentum flavum and the little give when you get into the epidural space (however rarely I felt it…), I miss the joy of the flashback of CSF, the quiet smug satisfaction of getting a needle tip into a tiny space. Ahhh. Good times.

I think I’m a frustrated surgeon at heart.

And remember… your life safe in my hands…

[Yes it’s late and I’m tired…]

3 Responses to “Did ye get healed?”


  1. 1 nikki coils January 19, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    your dreams of ‘needlework’ are my nightmares!

  2. 2 lilytodd January 22, 2008 at 12:46 am

    I will forever love the doctor who gave me a wonderful, complication free epidural. I remember him cos he went to my church, but I had never spoken to him, before or since, but I still send him affectionate vibes every time I see him.

    I’m not quite sure if that is what you are referring to here, in terms of ‘epidural space’ but total respect anyways Dr Nelly Needle.

  3. 3 Nelly And I January 22, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    the epidural space is where the drugs are meant to go for your lovely epidural. I’m not in the business of epidurals I must say.

    the joy and satisfaction in it does sound a bit weird but I suppose it’s good to love what you do.


Leave a Reply

About

January 2008
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

