Psalm of single-mindedness

A psalm of single mindedness (that I found in a 1970s magazine!)

Lord of reality, make me real
Not plastic, synthetic, pretend phony
An actor playing out his part, hypocrite
I don’t want to keep a prayer list
But to pray
Nor agonise to find your will
But to obey what I already know
To argue theories of inspiration
But submit to your word
I don’t want to explain the difference
Between eros, philos and agape
But to love
I don’t want to sing as if I mean it
I want to mean it
I don’t want to tell it like it is
But to be it, like you want it
I don’t want to think another need me
But I need him, else I’m not complete
I don’t want to tell others how to do it
But to do it
To have to always be right
But admit it when I’m wrong
I don’t want to be a census taker
But an obstetrician
Nor an involved person, a professional
But a friend
I don’t want to be insensitive
But to hurt where other people hurt
Nor to say I know how you feel
But to say GOD knows
And I’ll try, if you’ll be patient with me
And meanwhile I’ll be quiet
I don’t want to scorn the clichés of others
But to mean everything I say
Including this

3 Responses to “Psalm of single-mindedness”


  1. 1 David February 23, 2009 at 2:57 am

    For those wanting to know: I believe that comes from Joseph Bayly, Psalms of My Life.

    • 2 Bill October 2, 2010 at 4:14 am

      Heard this on Family Life Radio. The mid-morning host “Joyce” read it. Said she had kept it in her journal for many years. This is a profound statement for the Christian. Thanks for posting it. God Bless.

  2. 3 Teci June 25, 2011 at 6:15 pm

    I’m reading “The Quest for Character” by Charles Swindoll and he includes this poem. Thanks for sharing too. God bless u more 🙂


Leave a Reply

About

December 2006
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

